Sicilian Connections Logo                                                           

The province of Ragusa is situated in the South-East of Sicily and has a coastline of approximately 85 kilometres which stretches along the Mediterranean Sea. There are many fishing villages along this coast including Marina di Ragusa which is renowned for its beautiful beaches and lies opposite the island of Malta. 

The main city of Ragusa is located further inland and is situated on a hill between two deep valleys. It is registered as a UNESCO world heritage site and is divided into two parts, Ragusa Ibla and Ragusa Superiore (Upper Ragusa), which are separated by the Valle dei Ponti (Valley of the Bridges).


There are many fascinating Baroque buildings in Ragusa Ibla such as the Zacco Palace and it has retained its original medieval layout. Ibla was built over the ancient Sikel town of Hybla Heraea. In Ragusa Superiore there is the Cathedral of San Giovanni Battista (St. John the Baptist) and the Museo Archaeologico Ibleo (Iblean Archaeological Museum).